Album: No Truth (2013)

Obtain: Free Album Download

Song: Leper

Bitrate: 192kbps

Plays: 2,751 - Today: 0

  Download Song Add to Playlist


Dark metallic hardcore from Erie PA. Comprised of members of many past and current hardcore bands from the Erie scene, Hellsent looks to set it itself apart from the crowd as darker, heavier, and more angry than its predecessors while remaining true to the Erie Hardcore scene.

Formed in the summer of 2011, Hellsent sought out to write slightly more edgy, thrashy hardcore than the bands that most of the members were a part of. 5 songs were written throughout the next year, and the band played a few local and out of town shows before deciding to take it to the studio and solidify their sound.

Set to release in June of 2013, Hellsent's "No Truth" EP is a dark, heavy, angry view of the world through the vocalists eyes, displaying a hatred for the social norms that have become commonplace in the mainstream media and common every day life, most notably outlined in the song "No Control". Other lyrical themes include corruption of the church, distrust/paranoia, political coverups, as well as your typical heartbreak and backstabbing numbers.

Musically the band tries to stay true to its roots of heavy late 90's/early 00's hardcore without completely ripping it off, with numerable faster circle pit parts, groovy breakdowns that steer away from the bland generic "open chug" mosh parts common in metalcore of yesterday, while trying to keep the songs fresh and keep you guessing with numerable pace and riff changes throught each song.

Our debut EP is set to release friday May 24th online, and through Marked For Death records in mid June!

Hellsent is:

Derek: drums
Jason: Guitar
Steve: Guitar
Matty B: Bass
Kyle: Vocals